As a Partner Agency of the Food Bank, you have access to a wide range of programs and resources that could be helpful to your agency and community. Whether you are interested in a nutrition program for your community or help with fundraising for your organization, we are here to help you. For more information, please click below to see the available opportunities.

Advocacy

It takes more than food to fight hunger. The Community Food Bank of Eastern Oklahoma is committed to advocating for programs and policies that guarantee adequate nutrition for all eastern Oklahomans. Help us raise awareness about the reality of hunger in Oklahoma and advocate for legislation that addresses the many factors that contribute to food insecurity. Together, we can make a difference. For more information about advocacy and public policy, contact the State Advocacy and Public Policy Director of the Regional Food Bank of Oklahoma at 405-972-1111 ext. 100.

Capacity Building

Capacity building is essential to meeting the growing demands for food assistance in a changing world. It addresses many issues including how to serve more people more efficiently and  how to be better stewards of food and funds. The Community Food Bank of Eastern Oklahoma supports capacity building practices through educational workshops and training, agency-to-agency networking opportunities, program collaborations, resources for agencies and clients and hands-on assistance in client-choice methods.  In addition, general support for your operations is available in space planning, logistics and the sharing of best practices. For information on opportunities for capacity building or a one-on-one capacity assessment, contact Austin Brewer at 918-936-4513 or by email abrewer@okfoodbank.org.

Community Cuisine

Community Cuisine is product that has been prepared in the Food Bank’s Culinary Center or repackaged into suitable sizes at our facility for onsite feeding agencies enrolled in the program. An agency must be an approved onsite feeding program and have the capability to store and reheat pre-prepared meals to participate. For more information, please contact Jeff Marlow, Chief Culinary Officer, at 918-936-4529 or jmarlow@okfoodbank.org.

Cooking Matters

Share our Strength’s Cooking Matters™ is a nutrition-education program that teaches individuals how to prepare healthy, tasty meals on a limited budget.  Professional chefs and nutritionists volunteer their time and expertise to lead hands-on courses that show adults, teens and kids how to buy and prepare nutritious foods in healthful, safe and tasty ways.  This training provide individuals lifelong knowledge, skills and resources for preparing healthy meals. For information on how to host a Cooking Matters course at your program, contact Joy Ferrin at 918-936-4563 or jferrin@okfoodbank.org.

Food/Fund Drive Training

For more information on how to plan and coordinate a Food or Fund drive, contact Wendy Voss, Community Engagement Coordinator, at 918-936-4511 or wvoss@okfoodbank.org.

Food for Kids Backpack Program

The Food for Kids Backpack program provides nutritious, kid-friendly food to food-insecure students to take home on Friday after school. The Community Food Bank of Eastern Oklahoma provides all of the backpacks for Tulsa Public Schools, but partners with community organizations to meet the need in other communities. For more information about the Food for Kids Backpack program, contact Cathy Elliott, Children’s Programs Manager, at 918-936-4515 or celliott@okfoodbank.org.

Healthy Food Cooperative

The Healthy Food Cooperative provides an additional source for purchased food targeting product not always available through the donated food stream.  Product may be purchased with a one-case minimum.  For more information contact Donna Boggs, Operations Clerk at 918-936-4518 or by email at dboggs@okfoodbank.org

Mobile Pantry Program

The Mobile Pantry program creates a farmers’ market-style of food distribution in rural communities that might not have a full-service grocery store nearby. For more information or to see about scheduling a mobile pantry in your area, contact Scooter Vaughan, Mobile Pantry Coordinator, at 918-936-4553 or svaughan@okfoodbank.org.

Produce Deliveries

When the Community Food Bank of Eastern Oklahoma has a large quantity for fresh produce, we work with partner programs to make produce deliveries.  For more information contact Shannon Snelling at ssnelling@okfoodbank.org or 918-936-4546.

Resource Development Training

Interested to learn how your program could benefit from fund raising, grant writing or a communications strategy? Contact Rochelle Dowdell at 918-936-4508 or rdowdell@okfoodbank.org 

Retail Store Donation Program

The Retail Store Donation Program is a partnership between Feeding America and various retailers. Through this partnership, food and other essentials are donated to the Food Bank and directly to some of its partner agencies. Only Feeding America member Food Banks and their partner agencies may receive donations from these stores. For more information or to see about store availability in your area, contact Willa Steelman, Retail Store Donations Coordinator, at 918-936-4516 or wsteelman@okfoodbank.org.

Senior Servings Program

The Senior Servings Program provides shelf stable food, produce and bakery items to low income seniors.  Distributions take place at each site twice a month.  For more information contact Evan Taylor at 918-936-4510 or etaylor@okfoodbank.org.

Volunteer Recruitment & Retention Training

For help with volunteer recruitment ideas and suggestions for your program, contact Teressia Kehr, Manager of Volunteer Services at 918-936-4512 or tkehr@okfoodbank.org.